SusanSontagFoundation prizeForTranslation SusanSontag about events donate


The Foundation, in conjunction with Scandinavia House in New York City and the Finnish and Swedish Consulates, will host a literary symposium on Translation, Elmer Diktonius, Finland-Swedish Literature, and Modernism in Scandinavia. The events will take place on Friday, November 12th and will feature Benjamin Mier-Cruz, winner of the 2010 Prize for Translation, along with panelists Judith Thurman, David Rieff, Susan Bernofsky, Barbara Epler, and Agneta Rahikainen. Finnish Consul General and Ambassador Ritva Jolkkonen will introduce the day’s events. In the evening, Scandinavia House will screen Sontag’s film, Duet for Cannibals (filmed in Sweden in Swedish). For more information, please click here.


On November 5th, the Foundation will host an Awards Ceremony for Benjamin Mier-Cruz in Helsinki, Finland. US Ambassador to Finland Bruce Oreck will present the award. This day long literary symposium at the Society for Swedish Literature in Finland will focus on the work of Elmer Diktonius, pioneer of Finland-Swedish Modernism.

MAY 2010

The third annual Susan Sontag Prize for Translation was awarded to Benjamin Mier-Cruz for his proposed translation project: Modernist Missives of Elmer Diktonius, translations of the letters and selected poems of the Finland-Swedish writer Elmer Diktonius. Honorable mention was awarded to Salka Gudmundsdottir, an Icelandic native, for her proposed translation of Rafflesíublómiò (The Rafflesia Flower) by Steinar Bragi.


Anthology Film Archives in New York City is screening Susan Sontag's Promised Lands (1974), long unseen and out of circulation, in a new digital copy, courtesy of The Film Desk. The film opens February 4th for one week only. This is a rare opportunity to view Sontag's third directorial effort and her only documentary. Selected screenings will be introduced by special guests, including artist Paul Chan, and critics Melissa Anderson and Ed Halter. For showtimes, tickets, and further details, click here. On the occasion of this release, Paul Chan has designed a new screen print in a numbered edition of 100, with all proceeds going to support The Film Desk. Contact The Film Desk for more information and pricing.


Roanne Sharp, the 2009 Translation Prize winner, traveled to Buenos Aires with members of the Foundation for an awards ceremony and literary symposium. The three-day symposium focused on issues of translation and the Argentine writer Juan José Saer. The events were hosted by Fundación TyPA, with the support of Fundación PROA, the United States Embassy in Argentina, and the Centro Cultural de España en Buenos Aires. Click here to view photos of the events. Further information can be found at


Call to Applicants for 2010 Susan Sontag Prize for Translation. The Prize will be offered for a proposed translation of a work of fiction from Norwegian, Danish, Swedish or Icelandic into English.

MAY 2009

The second annual Susan Sontag Prize for Translation was awarded to Roanne Sharp for her proposed translation of La Mayor by Juan José Saer. Honorable Mentions were awarded to Rosemary Peele for her proposed translation of Viaje olvidado and Autobiografía de Irene by Silvina Ocampo and to Emily Toder for her proposed translation of Tres poemas y una merced (o cuatro poemas desplazados) by Sergio Chefjec.


Call to Applicants for 2009 Prize.

JUNE 2008

The 2008 Translation Prize winners attended the Helen and Kurt Wolff Prize Awards Ceremony in Chicago. There, they took part in the Goethe-Institut sponsored symposium on Literature in Translation and Independent Publishing. In attendance were this year’s Helen and Kurt Wolff Prizewinner David Dollenmayer (Moses Rosenkranz’ Childhood: An Autobiographical Fragment) as well as representatives from Deutschlandfunk, The American Literary Translators Association, Words Without Borders, Northwestern University Press, Melville House, Milkweed Editions, Open Letter, Archipelago Books, Dalkey Archive, Ugly Duckling Press, Kookbooks and the Helen and Kurt Wolff Prize Jury.

MARCH 2008

The first Susan Sontag Prize for Translation was awarded to Kristin Dickinson, Robin Ellis and Priscilla Layne for their proposed translation of Feridun Zaimoğlu’s Koppstoff: Kanaka Sprak vom Rande der Gesellschaft.


© 2010 Estate of Susan Sontag. All Rights Reserved.